Creative Musings… From My Heart

Do it!

Hi everyone,

I hope the start of the new year has been good to you? It has been for me and I’ll say more about that in a moment, but first, a little belatedly, allow me to wish you a very Happy New Year.

Although I’ve been absent from this site for a while, I’ve been focusing on writing for the last several months and one of my goals for the year, as perhaps indicated in the image above, is to continue to do so.

I refer to goals, instead of “resolutions,” because I personally am more likely to stick with them. It’s a philosophy shared by Joe Bunting from The Write Practice in this post.

For me, goals are flexible and while motivation and willpower are still required, if I don’t, for example, reach my target word count for a day, I’ll make it up the next day. It’s no biggie, as long as it IS done. Which leads me nicely on to the image above…

All of us, no matter whether we consider ourselves to be a writer, a motivator, a storyteller, a teacher, or indeed any other descriptive word for coach, have a story to tell. One that only we can.

It might be a life experience that we’ve gone through, or it might be a fictional story that we’ve imagined and can see, at least in part, in our mind’s eye.

It's ok

So, in these first few days of the fledgling year, I urge you to go ahead. Tell your story as only you can. Enrich someone’s life. You will feel so much better for it.

I’ll be back with more soon,
Em

This entry was posted in Creative Musings, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Musings… From My Heart

  1. Julia Batten says:

    Thanks for the inspiration Em. I am right with you about setting goals rather than resolutions. It gives us a bit more flexibility and then we don’t beat ourselves up if we have made a little omission or didn’t achieve something in the original time scale. Love Julia x

    Like

  2. Lena says:

    Best of success, dear friend. Looking forward to reading your work.
    Hugs ~ Lena

    Like

I love to read your comments. Thanks for taking time to leave them

